Is Racism Still Alive Today?

Even Though Obama Is President

February is Black History Month. However, even though we celebrate Black History Month, racism is still alive and well in the U.S. today. There is much proof to this as I wrote in another hub Why are Aren’t African Americans Included In History Classes In Schools? In that hub, I listed some African American who had contributed to our history and helped our country become what it is today.

This hub is different, then the rest of my hubs, but I am still writing it. African Americans are still life is much more difficult then it is for white people and here are just a few of the ways.

1) Almost 1 in 10 of black men are in prison, while black women are 7 times more likely to be in prison then white women.

2) In 1999 The median income for African Americans was $31,778 compared to $51,224 for White Americans.

3) Access to Health Care is a major problem for African Americans. 23% of African Americans have no health coverage at all. Black people die on average 6 years earlier then white people.

4) School Finance is another problem. Millions of African Americans do not get the education that is equal to the education white children get. This is because it has been decided that the money the school gets it from property tax. If schools don’t get enough money then they cannot provide a quality education. This is not fair. If all schools got the same amount of money every student regardless of race, would get the same quality of education.

5) African Americans are 5 times more likely to be pulled over by the police for no reason, except that they are black.

These are only a few examples of racism that exist in our society today, even though we have a president who is bi-racial. I myself have experienced racism, but only insults. I have a father who black, he is not my biological father, but is still my father. We get strange looks when we go out shopping, or go somewhere for any reason. Once we were even insulted verbally. I turned around and wanted to insult that person also. However, my father put his hand on my shoulder, and told me to let it go and forget about it. He told me it you don’t forget about the insults they can burn up inside you. So, next time it happens just think they don’t know us, and they don’t know anything

Leave a Reply

